Kazakh Khanate – 550th anniversary

Publications

A little bit about the Kazakh Khanate

We have discussed the establishment and development of the Kazakh Khanate with Zhambyl Artykbayev, Professor and Doctor of History

— How did Zhanibek and Kerei manage to establish a new state in the militant and free steppe?

— The establishment of the Kazakh Khanate became a result of the collapse of the Golden Horde. The White Horde stretching over the territory of modern Kazakhstan was the first state to separate from the Mongol Empire. The White Horde disintegrated into the two states — the Nogai Horde and Abulkhair’s Khanate. The Khan of the nomadic Uzbeks Abulkhair wished to rebuild an integral state and carried out a takeover of the power in the Nagai Horde. In 1457, Abulkhair was defeated by the Oirats. Then 500 tribes led by sultans of the Nogai Horde, Zhanibek and Kerei, separated from Abalkhair’s Khanate and moved to the area named Betpakdala. Later the sultans asked the permission of Mogulistan to settle the territory near the Chu River. At that time, Mogulistan suffered from attacks of the Oirats and Kyrghyz people. Yesenbuga, the ruler of Mogulistan, met the request of Zhanibek and Kerei to involve them and their people in protecting Mogulistan. In 1465, the Kazakh Khanate was recognised by neighbouring states.

— What do you think, why did the Kazakhs aspire to piece despite the tense situation in the steppe?

— In 1468, the Kazakhs settled the territory of modern Kazakhstan. After the death of Abulkhair Zhanibek and Kerei returned to their native lands. There was no need to fight for new land. And the nomadic way of life gave them an opportunity to get all necessary recourses. Additionally, the Kazakh Khanate was a type of civil society. There was no totalitarianism, authoritarian traditions and exploitation — slavery or serfdom, in the state. So, I believe that we became a peaceful nation because of all these facts.

— How could you explain the accession of the Junior Zhuz to the Russian Empire?

— The Great Silk Road had died by the 18th century and there was no the bridge between East and West anymore. Western countries established sea routes to have an access to Chinese and Indian goods. This resulted in the decline in trade and development of urban culture in our region. Fazlullah ibn Ruzbihan, one of the greatest Iranian political thinkers, said that to cook a dinner it was necessary to kill 500 camels at a fair in Sygnak. The rich Kazakhs had their own trading companies in the Russian Empire. But in the 18th century Kalmyks and Bashkirs, nations being parts of the Empire, started robbing and ruining enterprises of Kazakh merchants. Lohan Abulkhair ruling the Junior Zhuz asked the Russian Empire to resolve the situation. In response, Russia convinced him to accept Russian sovereignty. This decision was a peaceful way to economic development of the Kazakh Khanate.

— Thank you!

Dilyara Seidakhmetova

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

550 лет Казахскому ханству

Публикации

Немного о Казахском ханстве

О некоторых аспектах возникновения Казахского ханства, его роли в становлении государственности мы побеседовали с профессором, доктором исторических наук – Жамбылом Артыкбаевым

— Каким образом   Жанибек и Керей  образовали  в воинственной и свободной степи государство?

— Керею и Жанибеку удалось образовать ханство в результате распада Золотой Орды. Первой от Империи отделилась Ак Орда, которая затем распалась на два государства — Ногайскую Орду и ханство Абулхайра. Хан кочевых узбеков Абулхайр хотел восстановить единое государство и захватил власть в Ногайской Орде.  В 1457 году  Абулхайр  потерпел сокрушительное поражение от ойратов. После чего  500 племен во главе с султанами Ногайской Орды Жанибеком и Кереем решили отделиться от ханства Абулхайра и ушли в местность Бетпакдалу. Далее султаны обратились в Могулистан с просьбой занять берега реки Чу. В это время на Могулистан нападали ойраты и киргизы, с целью привлечения казахов к защите Могулистана от врагов, Есенбуга отдал им берега реки Чу.  Так было образовано Казахское ханство, которое в 1465 году признали соседние государства. 

 — Как Вы думаете, почему в воинственной степи казахи стремились к миру ? 

— С 1468 года казахи заняли территорию современного Казахстана, так как Керей и Жанибек вернулись в бывшее ханство, в связи со смертью Абулхайра. Потребности в захвате новых земель не было. Кроме того, кочевой образ жизни позволял обеспечить себя всеми необходимыми ресурсами. К тому же, Казахское ханство является прообразом гражданского общества. В системе правления не было тоталитаризма, авторитарных традиций, не было эксплуатации: рабства, крепостничества, от этого я думаю,  мы сложились как миролюбивый народ.

— Чем объясняется присоединение младшего хана Абулхаира к Российской Империи по вашему мнению?

— Это объясняется тем, что к XVIII веку перестает существовать Великий Шелковый путь и больше не связывает Запад и Восток. Запад с целью получения богатств Китая и Индии открывает морские пути. Это привело к окончательному упадку торговли в наших краях, как и городской культуры. В XVI веке, как сообщает историк Фазаллах Рузбахани, на его глазах, на ярмарке в Сыгнаке резали в течение дня на кебаб 500 верблюдов, и к вечеру не оставалось ни одного кусочка. К тому же, до присоединения богатые казахи имели свои торговые фактории в Российской Империи, но в XVIII веке их грабили и разоряли калмыки и башкиры, что входили в состав Империи. Абулхаир просил отрегулировать эти отношения, и тогда его убедила Российская Империя принять подданство, при этом по договору с Россией согласовывалась лишь внешняя политика. Процесс  присоединения к Российской Империи был мирным путем к экономическому развитию государства. 

— Спасибо за информацию!


Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь