«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future».
N. Nazarbayev
Home » Publications » The legend about Ergune-kun

The legend about Ergune-kun

30 September 2016
The legend about Ergune-kun
The legend about Ergune-kun is the kind of reflection of reals event from the early history of the Mongols.

The hypothesis about location of Ergune-kun at the junction of the Mangu and the Argun confirms the etymological analysis of words ‘kiyat’ and ‘kiyan’ associated with legend about Ergune-Kun. 

 The representatives of Tore became the founders of the Kazakh state. The upper class was represented by sultans in the Kazakh society, i.e. the descendants of Genghis Khan — Genghisids, who were the most influential power in the Kazakh society. The debates about Genghis Khan’s origin are still continuing. According to one of the versions, he takes origin from Kiyat tribe, which subgenus is included in Middle zhuz of the Kazakhs. The words ‘kiyat’ and ‘kiyan’ should be interpreted due to analogy in the legend about Ergune-kun with the name Nukuz, which was the ethnonym, kiyan and derivative word kiyat are ethnic names too. 

 A Mongolian scholar G.Suhbaatar shared the opinion that the legend about Ergune-kun was a retelling of Xianbei legend from ‘Wei Shu’. Here is the text of the legend from Chinese course (translated by V.S.Taskin) in order to understand how accurate the point of view was: 

 ‘The leader of Xianbei Tuying resettled (from North-West Manchuria, as researchers suggest) to the big lake on the south after 67 generations from the legendary progenitor Huang Ti and 4 generations from the ruler Mao. He intended to go further to the south due to the lack of sunny days and marshy soil, but he died. It took a long time before the Tuying’s idea was realized by Zifeng. At first, Zifeng wanted to give up on realization of ancestors’ will in the midst of high mountains, which crossing was associated with ‘nine difficulties and eight obstacles’. However, an unusual animal that looked like a horse, but mooing like a cow appeared there and led him away. After a few years, Zifeng crossed the mountains and settled in the former lands of the Huns’. 

 Some details of this legend were suddenly found by G.Suhbaatar in the statement, that were not in ‘Wei Shu’. The excerpt from his translation: 

 ‘In the fifth generation after Mao, their ancestors (Xianbei people) moved to the dark marshland with the large lake. They were forced to move to the south, to the old Hun territory with the help of ‘zuan yang’, i.e. ‘examine and dig’ (mountain) under the rulers Tuying (Xuan Huang Ti) and Lin (Xiang Huang Ti) due to impropriety (crowded) territory in order to form capital. 

 The characters zuan and yang have only one meaning — ‘to consider, cogitate, think’ in the context of described legend about xianbei. That is, Zifeng was just thinking how to cross mountains on the way of the Xianbeis, he did not intend to take any physical actions, while another meaning of these characters is ‘to dig, push and drill’ — refers to taking such actions, it does not relate to the content of the legend and G.Suhbaatar focuses on it. G.Suhbaatar knew that and it is no coincidence that he put the words ‘crowded’ and ‘mountain’ into brackets, however, it was mentioned about digging the mountain by Zifeng in his other works. There is not such information in ‘Wei Shu’, so G.Suhbaatar’s conclusion regarding the Xianbei’s legend about resettlement of their ancestors and the Mongol legend about Ergune-kun are the variants of the same folkloric writing is baseless. 

 The importance of Ergune-kun period in the history of the Mongols was in the fact that a group from Darlekin tribe started to form, it appeared to be the ethnic basis current Mongolian people. The base of that group was Chino tribe (‘Nukuz’ in the ‘Chronicle Collection’) and new tribes formed from it, where uryanhat and hungirat are often mentioned. The name Mongol occurred along with them in Ergune-kun. Its etymology clearly confirms the proposed date of departure of Mongol ancestors to Ergune-kun and it indicates with data from other sources, on which side of the Argun this area was located. 


 Used material: 

 G.Zh.Таbuldin, R.К.Оmurzakov, А.G.Оlovintsev. Kazakh khans and their descendants. — Kokshetau, «Мir pechati» publishing house, 2013

No comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

«Нам необходимо вглядеться в прошлое, чтобы понять настоящее и увидеть контуры будущего».
Н. А. Назарбаев
Главная » Публикации » Предание об Эргунэ-куне

Предание об Эргунэ-куне

30 Сентября 2016
Предание об Эргунэ-куне
Гипотезу о местонахождении Эргунэ-куна на месте слияния Мангу и Аргуни подтверждает этимологический анализ связанных с преданием об Эргуне-куне слов кият и киян

Представители сословия торе стали основоположниками Казахского государства. Высшее сословие в казахском обществе представляли султаны, т.е. потомки Чингисхана-Чингизиды, являвшимися самой влиятельной силой в казахском обществе. А споры о происхождении Чингисхана не утихают до сих пор. По одной из версий он происходит от рода кият, подроды которого ныне входят в состав Среднего жуза казахов.

Трактовать слова кият и киян следует по аналогии с содержащимся в предании об Эргунэ-куне именем Нукуз, являвшимся этнонимом, киян и производное от него слово кият тоже являются этническими названиями.

В научной литературе монгольским ученым Г.Сухбаатаром высказывалось мнение, что предание об Эргуне-куне является пересказом сяньбийского предания, содержащегося в «Вэй шу». Чтобы разобраться, насколько верна точка зрения, приведем текст предания из китайского источника (перевод В.С. Таскина):

«Через 67 поколений от легендарного прародителя Хуан-ди и 4 поколения от правителя Мао предводитель сяньбийцев Туйинь переселился (как полагают исследователи, из Северо-Западной Маньчжурии) на юг к большому озеру. Из-за малого количества солнечных дней и болотистой почвы он вознамерился было отправиться дальше на юг, но скончался. Прошло еще немало времени, прежде чем замысел Туйиня реализовал Цифень. Находясь среди высоких гор, преодоление которых было связано «с девятью трудностями и восемью препятствиями», Цифень поначалу хотел отказаться от выполнения завещания предков. Но тут появилось необыкновенное животное, похожее на лошадь, но мычащее, как корова, которое повело его за собой. Через несколько лет Цифень преодолел горы и поселился на бывших землях хунну».

В изложении этого предания Г. Сухбаатаром в нем вдруг обнаруживаются подробности, которые отсутствуют в тексте «Вэй шу». Отрывок из его перевода:

«В пятом поколении после Мао их предки (сяньбийцы) переселились в темную болотистую местность с большим озером. При правителях Туйинь (Сюань хуанди) и Линь (Сянь хуанди) ввиду непригодности (тесноты) местности для возведения столицы они вынуждены были двинуться на юг, на старую хуннускую территорию, с помощью действия цзуань янь, т.е. «изучив и прорыв» (гору)».

В контексте изложенного предания о сяньби иероглифы цзуань и янь имеют только одно значение – «размышлять, обдумывать, мыслить». То есть Цифень лишь раздумывал, как преодолеть возникшие на пути сяньбийцев горы, не собираясь предпринимать физические действия, тогда как другое значение данных иероглифов – «рыть, толкать, просверлить», - которое как раз предполагает применение таких действий и на что делает упор Г. Сухбаатар, к содержанию данного предания отношения не имеет. Г. Сухбаатар, надо полагать, знал это и не случайно заключил слова «теснота» и «гора» в скобки, хотя в других его работах упоминания о прорытии Цифеном горы нет. Так как такого сообщения нет и в «Вэй шу», то вывод Г. Сухбаатара относительно того, что предание сяньбийцев о переселении их предков и монгольское предание об Эргунэ-куне являются вариантами одного и того же фольклорного произведения, лишен всякого основания.

Значение эргунэ-кунского периода в истории монголов состояло в том, что в Эргунэ-куне стала складываться группа родов дарлекин, явившаяся этнической основой ныне существующего монгольского народа. Ядро этой группы составили род чино (в «Сборнике летописей» - нукуз) и образовавшиеся от него новые роды, среди которых чаще всего упоминаются урянхат и хунгират. Вместе с ними в Эргунэ-куне возникло название монгол. Его этимология ярко подтверждает предложенную датировку времени ухода предков монголов в Эргунэ-кун и вместе с данными других источников указывает, на какой стороне Аргуни находилась эта местность.


Использованная литература:Г.Ж.Табулдин, Р.К.Омурзаков, А.Г.Оловинцев. Казахские ханы и их потомки. — г.Кокшетау, издательство «Мир печати», 2013

Нет комментариев

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь